In December 1997 the Quicksteps, a Twin Cities vintage base ball club, challenged the Washington County Historical Society to a match game of 1860 rules base ball (to follow the vernacular of the day, we use two words). WCHS accepted and decided to revive the Saint Croix Base Ball Club to defend the honor of the St. Croix Valley and the National Pastime.

 Through the sponsorship of Andersen Windows, the Saint Croix Base Ball nine again took to the diamond as part of Lumberjack Days 1998.

vintage_base_ball_3The vintage base ball matches played in Minnesota essentially emulate the game that would have been played after the 1857 nine inning rule took effect and prior to the 1864 rule change that changed the one-bound out rule starting in 1865. The minor rule variations that took place between these years are sometimes open to debate. A stealing rule, and occasionally other rules and conventions are agreed to prior to a match. Vintage clubs around the country do not necessarily play the exact same 1860 game because of variations that go beyond the 38 sections in the rule set. The 1860 “New York Rules” game that the St. Croixs follow was also played by Civil War soldiers during times of leisure, which helped to make it a pastime for the entire nation.

To learn more about the Washington County Historical Society Vintage Base Ball program, contact WCHS Executive Director Brent Peterson by calling 651.439.5956 or by e-mail: information@wchsmn.org

2019 Vintage Base Ball Schedule

Times Subject to Change

Saturday, April 27, 2019 Quicksteps (location to be determined)

Saturday, May 18, 2019 12:00pm  Rum River @ Isanti

Saturday, June 8, 2019 La Crescent

Saturday, June 15, 2019 Hay Lake

Saturday & Sunday, June 22 & 23, 2019 Menominee

Saturday, June 29, 2019 Dakota County

Thursday, July 4, 2019 Northfield

Saturday, July 20, 2019 Lumberjack Days at Old Athletic Field, Stillwater

Sunday, July 21, 2019 Rochester (combined), MN

Saturday, August 10, 2019 Lanesboro, MN

Sunday, August 18, 2019 Barron County, WI at Historic Village

Saturday, September 7, 2019 Northfield

Saturday, September 14, 2019 Arlington, MN

Saturday, September 21, 2019 Albertville, MN

Saturday, September 28, 2019 Pat Tierney – Afton, MN